Volunteer Recognition: David H. Franklin Award

Each year during the tournament, volunteers are asked to nominate someone who exemplifies the true and selfless meaning of being a volunteer. This highly respected award is named for David H. Franklin, a long-time volunteer who worked at the tournament for 25 years before losing his battle with cancer.

As the tournament draws to a close, a committee selects a recipient from those nominated based on the following criteria:

  • Has been a volunteer with the tournament for at least five years.
  • Has shown personal dedication and commitment to making the tournament successful.
  • Always responded to what was required, regardless of how mundane the task.
  • Has been unselfish in her/his efforts, thinking more about making the tournament successful than receiving individual recognition.

The award recipient is announced at the Volunteer Breakfast held on Saturday of tournament week.

This year our very deserving recipient of the Franklin Award is Don Grubaugh.

Don Grubaugh lives in Ottawa, IL and has traveled to Akron to volunteer for 38 consecutive years.  He is currently Chairman of the Radios committee and is also a member of the Board of Trustees of Northern Ohio Golf Charities.

2016 Tournament Volunteer Chairman, Terry Ginley said, "Don is the definition of a true gentleman and a friend to hundreds of volunteers each and every year. While Don has never lived in Northeast Ohio, yet he continues to travel to Akron every year to give back to the tournament."

Download Nomination Form